MY EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH LIZ

LIZ

tumblr_mwg3r7UmKa1t2ourpo1_1280

NAME

LIZ

AGE

INTERNALLY 14 1/2

LOCATION

LOS ANGELES (THE VALLEY)

OCCUPATION

UNDERGROUND POP STAR ON MAD DECENT

tumblr_n6iihfif9F1qz9xylo6_500

Saddest Bae: You just dropped an EP “Just Like You”, tell me the message behind it.

Liz: The title of the EP “Just Like You” came from a line in the opening track, “Y2K.” I guess what I’m saying is I consider myself the ‘people’s pop star.’ I’m the girl next door who had a dream, and with enough patience, perseverance and imagination in life, you can make your own rules too.

tumblr_n5niejJRuA1sz8sb1o1_500
(All Them Boys Video)

SB: Your song “Y2K” is my anthem. What inspired that song?

L: Thanks! Yeah…it was really fulfilling to make. “Y2K” is an ode to those who inspire me- the artists who influenced me creatively and made me dream as a child, and the fans I’ve met on the road. I’ve felt like an underdog most of my life, and the kids I’ve had the pleasure of meeting at my shows really touched me and they constantly motivate me to live by example and show that it is possible to dream and end up doing what you love. Shout out to Lido for collaborating with on that one

SB: Is your real name Liz?

L: Yes! Elizabeth (after my grandma)

  SB: I saw that you performed at Perez Hilton’s SXSW party, how was that?

L: It was so cool!! I got to open for Blondie. The Austin Music Hall is a huge venue…can’t wait til I’m back there playing my own headlining show one day.

LIZ

SB: You dress so adorable, what inspires that?

L: I dress now how I used to fantasize about dressing when I was growing up. I’ve really gone back to who I used to be when I was little and just pure at heart. I always love to be comfortable and wear stuff I can just play in and jump around in!

    SB: Are you working on an album?

L: Yes, I’m working on my album…it’s coming along quite nicely. I hope people are ready for it!

SB: What is next for LIZ?

L: I’m doing some dates this summer on the Mad Decent Block Party tour and will be releasing some collabs as well as singles from the album which is set for an early 2015 release.

tumblr_n1qycjnKvF1t2ourpo1_400

SB: How is it being the new “it” girl, being praised for your amazing music?

L: Am I the new “it girl?” If so, that’s cool! I truly enjoy what I do and hope I make peoples’ lives more enjoyable with my music. I get really touched when people say they relate to me and love my songs. There’s no greater reward than that in what I do.

SB: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

L: Aside from traveling a bunch with my hot European husband, making/curating music and producing my cartoon series, I’ll probably own a huge peaceful ranch with a bunch of animals from my influential rescue organization. It will be a cool eccentric pop star ranch…like a more humble Neverland…with a purpose.

tumblr_mtzjwtdTGS1sjotfoo1_1280

FOLLOW LIZ

https://twitter.com/LIZ_Y2K

http://instagram.com/liz_y2k

http://lizy2k.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

